The Community House hosts annual Bates Street Society dinner and awards

William D. Seklar, President and CEO of The Community House and The Community House Foundation

A news publisher. A photographer who tells stories through her own unique lens. Doctors and healthcare professionals who are coming up with best-in-class wellness programs and services. Business people who are changing the way companies work and give.

William D. Seklar, President and CEO of The Community House and The Community House Foundation

All of these personalities and more will be in the spotlight for the fifth annual Bates Street Society Dinner Feb. 8 at The Community House in Birmingham. Known for its events that center on the personal, professional, recreational and philanthropic, The Community House is hosting the event alongside its Foundation Board of Directions.

PNC Wealth Management is the presenting sponsor of this year’s event, which inducts into the Bates Street Society individuals who make significant charitable contributions to support the work and mission of The Community House, organizers said. The Bates Street Society Dinner also recognizes The Community House’s annual Pillars of Vibrancy honorees for their work and contributions in the areas of education, culture, wellness, business and philanthropy.

The 2020 Pillars of Vibrancy honorees include:

• Brian Berman, M.D. – Chairman, Department of Pediatrics, Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine and Pediatrician-in-Chief for Beaumont Children’s
• Margaret Cooney Casey – Senior Vice President and Chief Development Officer, Beaumont Health System
• Mary Kramer – Group Publisher, Crain’s Detroit Business
• Hannan Lis – Principal, The WW Group, Inc.
• Ora Hirsch Pescovitz, M.D. – President, Oakland University
• Keith Pomeroy – Founder and Chairman, Pomeroy Investments
• Christine Provost – Philanthropist
• David Provost – Executive Chairman, TCF Bank
• Linda Solomon – Photojournalist and Author

The Community House Foundation is also introducing a new award for 2020 – the President’s Community Leadership Award. The award is presented to those who exemplify dedication, integrity and honorable service to their community. Recipients of this award are outstanding local leaders who epitomize the best spirit of community participation through their extraordinary initiative, impact of work, and inspiration of others. Honorees are recognized for their investment in the organizations, people and future of their community. This award is chosen and presented annually by the President and CEO of The Community House and The Community House Foundation.

Dave Provost

Rose and Brian Bolyard are the first recipients of the President’s Community Leadership Award. The Boylards are active supporters of The Community House and exemplify the award’s criteria through their leadership and service. The Bolyards chair one of the non-profit’s signature fundraisers, The Birmingham House Tour.

“The Bates Street Society Dinner provides the leadership and staff of The Community House the opportunity to recognize key members of our community for their extraordinary work and impact. This is one day a year we pause from our own work to celebrate the talents and contributions of those individuals who exemplify our pillars with the goal of inspiring the broader community,” said William D. Seklar, president and CEO of The Community House and The Community House Foundation.

Christine Provost

Broadcaster and FOX 2 News anchor Huel Perkins will serve as master of ceremonies for the event, which includes a seated three-course dinner, wine and cocktails, live entertainment from Ben Sharkey and an inspirational awards presentation.

Beaumont Foundation-Beaumont Hospitals is the Title Sponsor of the 2020 Bates Street Society Dinner. TCF Bank is the Private VIP Champagne Reception Sponsor. Additional sponsors include Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, Mills Pharmacy + Apothecary, Metalbuilt, DeRoy & Devereaux, Barbara and Tim Hertzler, Oakland University, BlueWater Equity Partners, and The Skillman Foundation.