CORP! Magazine Announces Recipients
of 2008 Salute to Diversity Awards

Corp! Magazine, Michigan’s largest business magazine and a long-time supporter of diversity and multiculturalism in business, has announced the companies, organizations and individuals that will be recognized in its annual Salute to Diversity issue and honored at a special event in October.

“As we all know, diversity is practiced at many levels, including race, gender, ethnicity, multiculturalism and more. This issue and awards program is a celebration of Michigan’s diverse communities and businesses, which strengthens our state and is a source of pride for all of us,” said Corp! Publisher Jennifer Kluge.

A total of 56 diversity winners will be profiled in the magazine’s Salute to Diversity issue and will be honored at an event on Tues., Oct. 14 at the Troy Marriott. The Salute to Diversity event is sponsored by General Motors, Compuware, DTE Energy, the Troy Marriott and the Michigan Business and Professional Association.

The diversity winners were selected in three categories and include: Diversity Focused Company, defined as a company that clearly defines and monitors diversity success and demonstrates how diversity efforts add value to the company; Diversity Business Leader, an individual who is a diversity role model or top officer of a minority-owned business; and Diversity Champion, a nonprofit or community organization that creates or promotes special programming, education or other initiatives that focus on diversity.

The Salute to Diversity event on Oct. 14 begins at 7:30 a.m. with networking and breakfast, followed by Diversity Panel Discussions and concludes with the awards presentation. The event is open to the public and tickets are $40 per person. The Troy Marriott is located at 200 W. Big Beaver Road in Troy. To make a reservation, e-mail [email protected] or call Sara Constantine at (586) 393-8815.

The mission of Corp! magazine, founded in 1998, is to inform, intrigue and entertain business owners and top level executives by providing business features, news and profiles with a Michigan emphasis.

2008 Salute to Diversity Winners

Diversity Champions
American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee Michigan
The Friendship Circle
Lighthouse of Oakland County
Michigan Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Michigan India Chamber of Commerce
Michigan Minority Business Development Council
National Civility Center
NAWBO- Greater Detroit Chapter
Transcultural Nursing Society
Yad Ezra
Yeshiva Beth Yehuda

Diversity Focused Companies
Aisin World Corporation of America
Arrow Strategies
The Bartech Group
Beaumont Hospital
EDS, an HP company
Global LT
Henry Ford Health System
Michigan First Credit Union
Sodexo, Inc.

Diversity Business Leaders
Faris Alami, Integration Systems Management
Lawrence G. Almeda, Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione
Nicola Antakli, Intraco
Marilyn Barnett, MARS Advertising
Amal Berry-Brown, Comerica Bank
Fouad Beydoun, International Association for Organ Donation
Keith Cooley, Michigan Department of Labor & Economic Growth
Valde Garcia, Michigan State Senator
Floriza Genautis, Management Business Solutions
Dr. Herman Gray, DMC Children’s Hospital of Michigan
John Green, Oneida Solutions Group
Martha Grier, Wayne County Community College District
Robert B. Jones, Michigan State Representative
Jumana Judeh, Judeh & Associates
Dr. Nabil Khoury, Henry Ford West Bloomfield Hospital
Marian Krzyzowski, University of Michigan
Bhushan Kulkarni, GDI Infotech
Grace Lee, Logic Solutions
Sam Logan, Michigan Chronicle
Peng-Li Lui, Weld-Aid Products
Dr. Susan Martin, Eastern Michigan University
Linda V. Parker, Michigan Department of Civil Rights
Vickie Piner, Lear Corporation
Dr. Steve L. Robbins, S.L. Robbins & Associates
Dolores Rodriguez, Milagro Packaging, Inc.
David Schostak, Schostak Brothers & Company, Inc.
Peter Schreck, Kotz, Sangster, Wysocki and Berg, P.C.
Jerry Sheppard, The Epitec Group
Larry Smith, MIST Innovations, Inc.
Linda Thompson Adams, Oakland University School of Nursing
W. Bernard White, White Construction Co. Inc.
Norman Yatooma, Yatooma’s Foundation For The Kids